Beauty Review: BUXOM Lip and eye

If you’ve read my book reviews you know I like it when I stumble upon something without knowing anything about it. Ditto for beauty. I didn’t know Buxom was from Bare Escentuals when I dropped into Sepphora in one of Baltimore’s malls. Actually I didn’t know Buxom at all .

I wanted to stock up on a Nars eyeshadow palette (Camargue)  I had been lusting after from the time I got onto a flight from India.

But Buxom’s packaging caught my eye – sleek, silver, nice graphics. I tried on their Big and Healthy lipstick and I suddenly saw an instantly fuller lip with a nice matte effect. It was a peach nude that worked on my skin.

As I rarely wear nude I finally decided to go with the soft pink featured here. It has a nice soft feel, goes on with a bit of a tingle and smells rather nice. The good thing is that it has no sulphates, parabens and all the stuff one would rather not have in one’s make up though I am not anal about these things. It stays fresh and goes on almost as lightly as a gloss though the efect is lipstick.

Now that I am back I wish I had stocked up on the nude as well.

The winner though for me, because I do the Indian eye, is Buxom’s smoky eye stick in Shooting Pistol.

It is a very dark black and goes on beautifully, no smudging. I use it as a thick line rather than softening it with a q tip and I like the way it holds. It also comes off easily which is the biggest challenge when you use dark kohl.

I remember seeing a matte grey that seemed like a good shade too but I can’t remember the shade name.

Will have to wait for my next trip to re-stock !

Leave a Reply

