Second Look: Dove Elixir hair oil- ROSE AND ALMOND

dove elxr
pix: geetaslist

Last time I mentioned Dove in a blogpost I had not tried the Elixir oils. Now I have and here’s my review

Price : RS 185 which is higher than other supermarket hair oils but much lower than premium and pure hair oils

Packaging : The bottle is pretty and transparent with an easy to use dispenser.However if it has so many ‘precious oils ‘ it should have been a dark bottle .The carton looks a bit dusty in- store

Product: The fragrance is too strong for my liking -It doesn’t smell premium. The oil goes on sticky though it leaves hair shiny.I would not reccomend using it as a styling, post wash or heat protect product .

Pre Wash: Leave in for a short while or overnight for a pre- wash treatment. Washes off easily. I felt my hair was softer and less prone to breakage post wash but that could also have been the combination of John Freida’s Frizz free shampoo ( v good) and Body Shop’s sulfate free hair conditioner ( I don’t think this is very good but it’s in the bathroom right now )

Verdict: A sticky oil and the fragrance is not premium. Did leave my hair soft but not softer than an oil masage with other Indian hair oils. But it did leave noticeably more shine.

Major concern: While the oil is positioned as a rose and almond oil it has 78% mineral oil plus silicone-dimethicone (that explains the shine) which can rob your hair of mosture in the long run . The jury is out on mineral oil -more believe it is bad for you but many beauty products have mineral oils as it helps keep costs down. dove elixr bop
But since this one is positioned as a rose and almond oil I think Dove should be clearer in its communication – after all they are talking to real women who like real facts .

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sukanya says:

    I searched around for a good review on this product & found yours when I had,more or less, decided to give it a go! Thank you so much for some much needed honesty in a review! Now I feel better off with good old oil massages! And whoa! Your profile is awesome! I’m definitely coming back for more! 🙂

  2. Dollie says:

    So glad to see that you too share my views about mineral oil being such a major component of this elixir. So many bloggers have raved about this product without even mentioning that it has mineral oil.

    I have reviewed it too and would love it if you would have a look at it: http://indianshringar.blogspot.in/2013/01/dove-elixir-worth-hype-my-conscience.html

Leave a Reply

