Saffronart preview at Four seasons

krishen khannaHad a good  time at the Saffronart pre auction viewing last night. Besides the fact the show as well organized and the wine was good  there was space and time to stand and look at every piece as the viewing was spread over two venues .

Seeing a roomful of Moderns was a bonus as there is another auction besides contemporary art on Saturday 15th February.

Lots of work by Souza,Hussain and Ram Kumar as they always come up in auctions and never seem to go out of fashion.

ram kumar
Ram Kumar
Hussain
Hussain
Souza
Souza

Some more images from the  contemporary art set  but the strong lights on the works haven’t given me the best results. For a full viewing go to www.saffronart.com 

Ravinder Reddy
Ravinder Reddy
mithu sen
Mithu Sen – some of her work is featured on my Chemould gallery blog.
Bharat  Sikka - Photography
Bharat Sikka – Photography
Anju Dodiya
Anju Dodiya

I was quite impressed by how well Four Season’s managed this -last time I went there for an event it wasn’t as well executed.

Met artist Suruchi Chand and it was like  blast from the past as I was transported to my college days when I barged into the ICICI bank building at BKC  desperately pleading with the security guy to let me in just to see the artist’s giant hanging installation  in the foyer. I thought was terra-cotta all these years until  she told me last night  that it was fibre glass made to look like terra-cotta.

At that time ICICI was the only large and modern building in the area -probably the only one besides the courts and government buildings.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. veengupta says:

    Yes the show was arranged very well with lots of space to move around and see the great artworks. My favourites are Kishan Khanna and Ganesh Pyne among all the greats.

    1. Geeta Rao says:

      Yes i liked the Ganesh Pyne as well .I should add the picture to the blog as I have an image 🙂

  2. Saffronart says:

    Thank you for the article. Please make a correction – the auctions are on Saturday Feb 15th, not Friday.

    1. Geeta Rao says:

      Thanks for pointing it out. Done.
      geeta

Leave a Reply

