Designs from Florence

NAAZ by Farnaz Kani

Her work has been featured in Vogue Accessory, AD, Elle, Vanity Fair/style online and other publications as her soft leather and cut stone designs -neckpieces, cuffs, belts and earrings develop a loyal fan following. I am thrilled to have an interview with Florence based Farnaz Kani on my first blog of 2015 .

geeta's list pic
Designer Faranaz Kani

My inspiration

After many years of painting and sculpting, studying gems and research of materials my idea was to create wearable art.
Looking at old masterpieces I have always been fascinated by the existence of the decorative motifs from prehistory to the modern times and how they have had an important impact in the beauty and grace in different cultures and countries.

I wanted to create pieces that would recreate the magic of ancient elegance combining it with our modern lifestyle.

Amazing grace

My brand is called Naaz which is grace in Farsi . Farah Diba ( former Shahbanou of Iran ) with her patronage of the arts and yet a modern active woman of the new age, with her sense of style and commitment to historical preservation has always been a big inspiration for me.

Material Girl

I try to minimize the contact of the rough materials with the skin therefor leather is always present in my pieces. I work it playing with a diverse selection of materials. I cut, shape and place metals mixing it with stones, Swarovski crystals and sometimes precious stones creating a magical and mysterious mood yet light and wearable.

Tehran to Florence

I grew up in Tehran in a family where life had  no meaning without art in all it’s shades. I joined my first art class when I was eight where I learned more about how to create and appreciate beauty.Later on in my early 20’s, I decided to move abroad and widen my vision from eastern to western.

Florence has always had a great impact on me. The city is a masterpiece itself; you can breath art in every little corner. The trace of each great artist that has ever been here, every inch of the town is an inspiration.

Florence Insider

Santa Maria del Fiore Cathedral, Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery in Signoria square and Gallery of the Academy of Florence are a few of the monuments you should absolutely see in the city. But Florence is much more.
One of my favorite places is Museum of Novecento that has recently opened with a large collection of Tuscan art of the 1900’s.
The city is also the place of birth of many fashion designers such as Salvatore Ferragamo, Guccio Gucci, Emilio Pucci, Stefano Ricci, Roberto Cavalli, Ottavia and Rosita Missoni.
For fashion lovers I highly recommended a visit to the Gucci museum and Ferragamo museum.

Vist Farnaz’s website  www.naaz.it

Leave a Reply

